Abraham Lincoln and a Bit About Abortion.

Posted: July 12, 2012 in Abortion Debate, Suffering

Samantha Heiges was sentenced to 25 years in prison for killing her newborn baby by drowning her in 2009. If only she had gone to a clinic to kill the child a few weeks earlier she would be a free woman. Why? Because in the eyes of the law her baby would not have been a member of the human family yet. This fact sickens me.  Last year another young mother received no jail time for strangling her newborn and throwing the body over a fence. The judge cited support for legalized abortion in Canada, where abortions are legal and paid for at taxpayer expense.

Let me ask you this question.  I am serious.  I need to know. What exactly are the differences between a child before and after birth that would justify its protection a minute after birth but not a minute before? There are none, in my view.  And that second case where the judge  said“In summary, this is a classic infanticide case – the killing of a newborn or a justborn after a hidden pregnancy by a mother who was alone and unsupported.” Makes no sense to me…post birth abortion? Really?

Abraham Lincoln said the following regarding slavery:

 You say A is white, and B is black. It is color, then; the lighter, having the right to enslave the darker? Take care. By this rule, you are to be slave to the first man you meet, with a fairer skin than your own.

You do not mean color exactly? You mean the whites are intellectually the superiors of the blacks, and, therefore have the right to enslave them? Take care again. By this rule, you are to be slave to the first man you meet, with an intellect superior to your own.

But, say you, it is a question of interest; and, if you can make it your interest; you have the right to enslave another. Very well. And if he can make it his interest, he has the right to enslave you.

The way I see it is there are no morally relevant differences between a white person and a black person to permit one to enslave the other. I also see no morally relevant differences between a pre-born child and a born child that would give anyone the right to kill either.  And if you care to debate this with me, then I will take that challenge – but only in person.  I don’t want either of us to hide behind our computer screens when we debate. 🙂

Anyway, to the point of this post.

I finally got off my lazy butt and went to listen to Stephanie Gray, cofounder the Canadian Center for Bio-ethical Reform (CCBR), speak on abortion last night.  Wow.  I was very impressed with Stephanie.  She presented my own point of view better than I ever have – and I am not bad at presenting my own view.  I thought I knew how to defend my pro-life point of view, until last night!  If you are prolife, I implore to go and listen to Stephanie Gray speak, or visit endthekilling.ca, you will be moved and you will be reaffirmed in your views…or you will learn how to better defend your pro-life stance.  If you are pro-choice, I implore to you listen to Stephanie (or speak with me, or anyone else who holds to this view) and see if your stance will hold up under scientific fact and profound logic. Here is a bit about the Canadian Center for Bio-Ethical Reform

CCBR’s views can be summarized as follows:

  1. CCBR believes that it is self-evident that human beings, by virtue of their humanity, are objectively valuable; that value makes them equal in worth to one another.
  2. CCBR acknowledges that, in human reproduction, a new, living human being comes into existence at fertilization (when a sperm fertilizes an egg).
  3. CCBR holds that abortion, in surgical, chemical, or any other form, directly and intentionally kills an unborn human being and is therefore wrong, regardless of the circumstances under which that human being was conceived or the circumstances in which that human being continues to develop.
  4. CCBR recognizes that other mechanisms that jeopardize the lives of unborn human beings, such as abortifacient birth control and some reproductive and scientific technologies, are also wrong.
  5. CCBR believes that imagery is a powerful tool that must be incorporated into its educational efforts.
  6. CCBR condemns all forms of abortion-related violence and will not collaborate with groups or individuals who fail to condemn such violence.

Yes I am a Christian and I believe that life begins at conception.  I can convince most of my readers with psalm 139

For you formed my inward parts;

you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a]
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.

However, just because I see the Bible as an authority, does not mean everyone does.  So we have to learn scientific and philosophical arguments to persuade others that killing the unborn child is wrong.

If you are interested in learning more about defending the prolife view please contact me, or join the Valley Against Abortion on Facebook, or look up the CCBR at http://www.unmaskingchoice.ca or check out weneedalaw.ca.  There are numerous resources out there.

Thank you to the Valley Against Abortion leaders for setting up this presentation last night.  I would like to thank also Stephanie and Jonathon from CCBR; and Mike Schouten from weneedalaw.ca who is actively pursuing abortion legislation in Canada. Canada is the only country in the western world without ANY form of abortion legislation.  In Canada it is legal to abort at any point of pregnancy …up to the point of giving birth.  AND according to one judge it is justifiable to kill your just-born child…This must change.

And finally, I want to leave you with 2 things. The first is this quote:

We will never transform our culture by politicking for a surface change in the law. Change will only come from the example of Christians who are not afraid to live what they believe — who would rather lose every church, house, and job they have than to go down in history as the Christians who presided over the greatest human carnage in the history of the world. Such Christians will never prefer to rescue their things instead of their neighbors.” -Joseph Lapsley Foreman, “Shattering the Darkness

The second is a picture which may disturb you.  But if you cannot face this truth, then you need to do something about it.  Don’t just turn your face away. This is happening… in our country!

Here is a profound image for you:

Image

Comments
  1. busyquiltmom says:

    I’m glad I went too. She really is an engaging speaker.

    The image is gut wrenching to be honest. I’m praying for an end to the insanity!

    • One Christian Dad says:

      Hi Alisa,
      The image is very hard to view but there is a reason for it. I am praying for an end to the insanity as well. Thanks for the comment

  2. James Kanis says:

    Great article, Ryan! I especially liked the Abraham Lincoln quote. This is something that will end in our lifetime, with Christians rising up one after the other and taking up the call to…
    Psalm 82:3-4 “Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless; maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed. Rescue the weak and needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked.”
    Proverbs 31:8-9 “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.”

    • One Christian Dad says:

      I believe it will end in our lifetime. I love your enthusiasm, and to be honest, you played a huge part in my involvement in this cause. I have no idea why Rebecca G. and James V. crossed my path at work, or why I got to know you at just this time! But you were all like a little tap on the shoulder from God (remember your comment on my comment a couple months ago trying to recruit me?) I was always pro-life, I knew the arguments and I knew the stats, but I did not do much about it, I was a passive Christian who thought “let someone else fight this fight.”…so thank you for the push. It is Christians like y
      ourself who will make a difference, it is because of the young people in our churches, it is because we are not afraid to stand up, like MLK or Rosa Parks that these atrocities will end. I will do what I can, in prayer and in action. Keep up the good work!

      • James Kanis says:

        Thanks, Ryan! I know you’ll inspire many after you as well. You’re right. It’s the average Joe, the guy in the back pew, that will help end abortion.

  3. One Christian Dad says:

    James, I do hope to inspire people to Love God and their neighbour. If I can help just one person see the light, then I will count my work complete. But either way…To God be the glory. There is nothing wrong with being an average Joe in the back pew. God will use whom He wants, how he wants. Perhaps it will be just one sentence you said to a person you don’t even know that will plant a seed of faith…we do not know His ways 🙂

  4. “Speak for those who cannot speak for themselves.”
    Any who claim to care about injustice and inequality should speak out about this horror.
    Thank you Brother,
    C.C.T.